What is the Enneagram and What Can It Do For Me?

What is the Enneagram and What Can It Do For Me?

To figure out WHY we show up the way we do, we introduce you to the tool of the Enneagram. The Enneagram is a tool based on the idea that each person has a unique and innate personality structure, or “essence,” that shapes the way they see and act in the world. Unlike other self awareness tools, the Enneagram does not put you in a box, but rather helps you know which box you are in and find your way out.

Enneagram is a motivaton typing system that consists of nine different types (or “enneatypes,” “ennea” means “nine”). Everyone is considered to be one primary type, although one can have significant traits belonging to other types. While it’s uncertain whether this type is genetically determined, many believe it is already in place at birth.

There are nine archetypes each representing a combination of unconscious motivations, superpowers, challenges, fears, and triggers that shape their thoughts, feelings, and actions. It can help individuals understand their own motivations and behavior, as well as the motivations and behavior of other key people in their lives which can lead to more enjoyable relationships, effective communication, and optimal problem-solving.

Learn and utilize the Enneagram tool to improve communication, increase self and other awareness, and grow effective leadership skills by recognizing the strengths and challenges of yourself and others. By recognizing these motivations and patterns, we can effectively tweak or pivot our approach for decreasing distraction and frustration between individuals and across organizations. It leads to optimal outcomes.

The Nine Types

The nine types are universally identified by the numbers 1 to 9, and have a standard way of being placed around the Enneagram symbol. (Note: Various Enneagram authors have attached unique names to these numbers) n

  1. The Reformer/Improver: perfectionists, responsible, fixated on improvement
  2. The Helper/Giver: helpers who need to be needed
  3. The Achiever/Chameleon: success oriented, human doings to attain validation
  4. The Individualist/Romantic: identity seekers, who feel unique and different
  5. The Investigator/Observer: thinkers who tend to withdraw and observe
  6. The Loyalist/Navigator: Conflicted between trust and distrust
  7. The Enthusiast/Epicure: Pleasure seekers and planners, in search of distraction
  8. The Challenger/Independent: Taking charge, because they don’t want to be controlled
  9. The Peacemaker/Mediator: Keeping peace and harmony

You Might Also Like

Add Your Heading Text Here

When Results Matter, We Are Here

Through the Sailor’s Sweet Life Communication Intelligence™ program, you’ll get an objective review, trusted partner, and actionable tools to help you lead and communicate effectively with ANYONE.

(yes, even that person it feels impossible to see eye-to-eye with).